Thank you Google

I wanted to share the story long back. Today has made up my mind and putting it on the paper. Google has become indispensable for the internet. Without it you cannot get the information you want. On a simple press of search button after entering the query, thousand upon thousand results are displayed within fraction of seconds. It’s interface deceptively simple. Most of people think that Google is simply a search engine. There are several other applications which are very helpful. Some of these are Maps, Earth, Gmail, Picasa, Translation, Blog and so on.

Now my story. I did my Masters in Chemistry from Panjab University Chandigarh long back in 1975. Many of friends left the country and found jobs there. As is the case, slowly slowly each one went his or her way in search of jobs and settling.

I joined the ONGC, India’s premier exploration and production company in hydrocarbons area. I had a friend who went to USA for doing doctorate in Chemistry. We lost contact and for years did not contact one another.

I remembered him many times. I tried to find him through our teachers and colleagues but got vague indications. I resigned to the fact that it is gone case now.

But then I decided to see if Google search can help. Since his name is also the name of so many other people, searching him using his name revealed voluminous information. Sifting through it was impossible. I knew that he did his research there. I entered the text related to the erase arc papers published by him. Some paper names showed up. He was one of the authors in them. Since he was not the first author, his email address was not given. Then I googled the name of first author and found one article by him with his email mentioned.

I sent him an email politely asking if he is in touch with his co author who was my friend. His reply came within minutes. I had mentioned my contact number also in the mail. He replied saying that your friend shall ring you in 10 minutes. And for sure, his phone call came and I was so happy and we talked for quite sometime.

I was awed at the technology by Google. Thanks again. Many others might have similar happy experiences.

Leave a Reply

